Today is a new day

Good morning. Showered and "freshened-up" to meet the day. I always thought the term freshen up was interesting. Makes me think of powder rooms, which remind me of Holly Golightly. Tiffany's. My quick search for the history of powder rooms was just that; quick. Long story short: a modern day idea of a bathroom to shit in without going to a more private area of a home (that information can be found on DoItYourself.com and several search engines). Which is interesting because you think you'd want more privacy. It's the respect for the household I guess. Funny thought: I don't know you that well to go into your upstairs level to shit, so let me do it about 10 feet away from your kitchen. Anyway, back to Tiffany's.

In my search of powder rooms I stumbled upon a transcribed interview on Vanity Fair with an author who writes a piece on Holly Golightly and the modern femininity of the 60's. From what I read, I really enjoyed it. I'll have to continue it later on because I didn't want to get side tracked from my writing this morning, but I'll talk briefly about my thoughts on it. What were women before? Lady-fair, poised, elegant? Some were I'm sure. But I also think they were on the verge of breaking free from anti-sex notions that men and older women had on them. Holly is a call girl, asking for money for the powder room. She also was unconventional in the sense that she saw several men, lived alone, and spoke to convicts. But that was the way she decided to make it in New York. She comes from a small town, stealing eggs and milk, married young to be married young. In that sense, Holly is just like anyone now. She would fit right in with our OnlyFans era. Would she have remained lady-fair, poised, and elegant? A true delight? Would she still have the air about her that she does in the 60's, carried over into our 100th-year 20's era? I don't think she would have kept this splendor.

I make this argument because it's not as hard now. There's really no need to compete with the woman next to you to be seen as greater. Women against women, I believe, is a phase that is over in our modern feminine world. Well, I shouldn't be SO bold. The Karens of the world are making sure they stay on top, but the true woman who loves other women for their own personalized beauty and grace are plentiful. Am I that kind of woman to myself? Do I love myself for my own beauty and grace? How can I do more of this? I know all the sayings: do better because you love yourself not because you hate yourself, etc. etc. It's just hard. It's not a matter of looking a certain way anymore, I don't think. I mean that definitely plays into account, but I want to feel a certain way. I want to carry myself a certain way and I don't think I can do that without changing. Maybe I don't have to change. Maybe I just need to look at different parts of myself. What are the parts that really speak to my spirit, what does she need to be seen?

Maybe I'll make a want to be list. Would that add more pressure or clarity? We'll see.

Update: I had him read my post after an argument transpired about the dreadfulness that was the dishes, and the clothes on the floor I guess. At the point I showed him the posting, we had already settled on the idea that not everything needs an excuse or explanation, and again, my feelings just need to be validated that our shared space should be respected. I apologized for being abrupt and taking a not so great approach, and he recognized how his actions influenced my emotions. We moved on. He did the dishes.

Comments